Yama & Niyama


Essential Steps in Classical Yoga Applied to the Culture of Bhakti

  • Yama and niyama are the first two of eight limbs of aştanga-yoga, often considered to be a classical yoga. It’s made famous by the Yoga-sūtras of Patañjali, which describe the eight-limb yoga system as well as the six-limb yoga system. Yama and niyama are a basis for the later practice, asana, which means posture. According to one system, there are 8,400,000 yoga postures, as there are 8,400,000 species of life.
  • After āsana is prānāyama, practice of conscious breathing. Then there is pratyāhāra, withdrawal of the senses. And there is dhyāna, meditation, then dhārană, concentration, and finally samādhi, usually translated as absorption. Astanga-yoga aims to attain samādhi. Samādhi means full Krsna consciousness.

Additional information

Weight0,45 kg
Dimensions15 × 23,2 × 2,2 cm


Published date




There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

You may also like…