Padma Purana (Stories from the)


Padma Purana is one of the eighteen principal Puranas, as explained in the Shirmad-Bhagavatam (12.7.25):

“The eighteen major Puranas are the Brahma, Padma, Vishnu, Shiva, Linga, Garuda, Narada, Bhagavata, Agni, Skanda, Bhavishya, Brahma-vaivarta, Markandeya, Vamana, Varaha, Matsya, Kurma and Brahmanda Puranas.”

It is further explained that six of these Puranas are considered to be for those in the mode goodness, six are for those in passion, and six are for those in ignorance. The Padma Purana is one of the six for those in goodness.


Padma Purana is divided into six Khandas comprising fifty-five thousand verses.

The six Khandas are Srstikhanda, Bhumikhanda, Svargakhanda, Patalakhanda, Uttarakhanda and Kriyayogasara. The Uttarakhanda describes the importance of all months and also the lotus, the seat of Brahma.

Contains the glory of Srimad-Bhagavatam; the stories of Rama, Jagannatha, Matsya, Ekadasi, Bhrgu, etc.

Translation by Purnaprajna dasa. This is a story like book of flowing text summary, no Roman transliteration of verses.

Additional information

Weight0.5600 kg


Published date




There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

You may also like: